a pain in the neck

I stopped taking home pregnancy tests a while ago.   They only served to waste my money and make me sad,  and I figured it was cheaper to just wait to find out if my period was late.  Also I have been charting for over a year,  and I have gotten good at telling when my chances are over by watching my temperature drop a couple days before the end of my cycle.  When my temperature drops,  my heart drops,  but at least I am prepared in advance for the disappointment before it comes.   When I was testing all the time,   my period would wait until I was actually peeing on the stick to arrive.   I never got two pink lines but I did get one red splotch a lot.  That was another thing that made me stop testing.  It was a hard habit to break,  almost harder than quitting smoking several years ago,  but I quit the stick and turned my obsessive attention to the chart.

This past week I have been distracted with a friend visiting from out of town,  my wedding anniversary,  and drama going on with Husband’s job.  I like when there are things to distract me from my own uterus for a while, especially at the end of a cycle.  I do always manage to get up between 5 and 6 a.m. and take my temperature though.   A couple days ago the dreaded drop came so I pouted, blogged,  and went on with my weekend ready to start a new and improved cycle.   There was another distraction as well:  the entore time I had a house guest I had a severe migraine and a stabbing pain in the back of my neck.   I get big headaches just before my period,  and it has been literally hotter than hell down here which also gives me headaches,  but of course part of me wanted “neck pain” to be some kind of symptom of something.   I almost went to the doctor when it didn’t let up for the third day in a row.

The headaches finally let up for the most part, but something has been… strange.  I have had a little bit of a fever for a couple days… but people get fevers, right?   So of course that would explain why my morning temperatures are back up… right?  And I have been under a lot of stress lately trying to find a second job… so maybe that would explain why I’m also… late?

It’s only one day.     One day isn’t really late.  I need to re-read the post I just wrote to my future self about how everything is NOT a symptom… and just maybe… I need to go get a test?

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 11:11:04

    Test! I remember with my first pregnancy literally feeling the heat coming off of my face. Those sound like promising signs!

    Reply

  2. Sabrina
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 11:53:43

    I never test before my period is due.. but if I was late I would definitely!! Good luck Good luck Good luck!!

    Reply

  3. Melissa
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 18:38:55

    Um yes, test! Late is late! FINGERS CROSSED!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

